Cultural Awards

Macon Arts Cultural Awards

The annual Macon Arts Alliance Cultural Awards recognize individuals, organizations, and businesses who have made significant contributions to the cultural life of Central Georgia through their work or philanthropic efforts.

Use the link above to download the 2023 Cultural Awards Nomination Form, complete the form, and email the form and supporting materials to: Julie Wilkerson at

Past Cultural Award Recipients


Zelma and Otis Redding Spirit of Community Award Recipient

A person of tremendous talent who gives back to our community in a big way

Robert McDuffie

Rosalyn Elkan Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Recognizing a life-long commitment to arts and culture in our community

Maryel Battin
Jim Crisp
Eugene Cox Dunwody
Turner Gaughf
Marianna Gebara
William A. Lane
Del Ward Leslie
William Tony Long, Sr.

Dennis McCleary
Blythe McKay
Wini McQueen
Beverly Olson
Betty Sanders
Betty Sweet Simmons
Wilfred Stroud
Jean Evans Weaver

Cultural Award Recipients

Recognizing a significant contribution to arts and culture in our community

Chris Abbott
Robert Ackerman
Joe & Evelyn Adams
Martha Emma Anderson
Nancy Briska Anderson
Franklin Camp Bacon
James E. Barfield
Louise Barfield
Bob Barnette
Maryel Battin
Jan Beeland
Belk Matthews
Bike Walk Macon
Camille Thomas Bishop
Beverly Blake
Jane Boyd-Hamilton
Janice Brice
Dorothy Ogden Brown
Brown & Williamson Corporation
Jeff Bruce
Candy Burgess
Craig Burkhalter
James Caldwell
September Carter
Sydney Chalfa
Charter Medical Corporation
Edward K. Clark, MD
Contemporary Arts Exchange
Kathleen Cook
Virgil E. Cooper, Jr.
Nancy Brown Cornett
Cox Communications
Tracy Smith Coyle
Jim Crisp, Jr.
Joe Cullison
Sammy and Annie Dame
Stephen Daugherty
Kathryn Dennis
Joanne English Dockrell

Bonnie C. Dowling
Mattie Dunn
Elliott Dunwody
Eugene Cox Dunwody
Mary Bennett Cox Dunwody
Edward Eikner
Rosalyn Elkan
Theresa Rett English
Priscilla Esser
Theresa Rett English
Chi Ezekwueche
Roy Fickling
William A. Fickling, Jr.
Betsy Fitzgerald
Friends of Tattnall Square Park
Steven Fulbright
Turner Gaughf
Marianna Gebara
Georgia College and State University Theatre & Dance
Georgia Power
Maestro Adrian Gnam
Joan Stockstill Godsey
Dr. R. Kirby Godsey
JoAnn Green
Myrtle Habersham
Kenneth Hammond
Suzanne Jones Harper
Sylvia Haynie
Sally Murphey Heard
Sara Beth Hertwig
C. Terry Holland
Roy Horne
Christopher Arthur Dale Howard
Hudson & Marshall
Rick Hutto
Bobby Jones
John T. Jones
Louise Kaplan

Shelley Kuhen
Betty Sweet Simmons Ladson
Eleanor A. Lane
William A. Lane
Del Ward Leslie
Catharine B. Liles
William Tony Long, Sr.
Macon Film Festival
Macon Iron and Paper Stock
Macon Little Theatre
Macon Magazine
Macon Neighborhood Arts
Macon Pops
Macon Transit Authority
Jane Madison
Martha Malone
Bob Mavity
Dennis McCleary
Susan McDuffie
Blythe McKay
Jackie McNair
Wini McQueen
Rudy Mendes
Judson Mitcham
Scott Mitchell
Dsto Moore
Amy Schwartz Moretti
Tom Morris
Susan Morton
Freda Nadler
Willie Nesbitt
NewTown Macon
Kathy Nolan
Nutcracker of Middle Georgia
Katherine Carmichael Oliver
Beverly Olson
Paul Oppy
Peyton Anderson Foundation
Phillips Performing Arts
Carey Pickard
Sean Pritchard
Morris Purcel
Karla Redding-Andrews

Stephen Reichert
Riverside Ford
Dr. Stanley L. Roberts
Donald L. Rosen
Terrell Sandefur
Betty Sanders
Kim Schnell
Lena Schram
Howard Scott
Jeanette Lang Shackelford
Chris Sheridan
Dee Shields
Nancy Shurling
Betty Sweet Simmons
Claire Smith
Linda Smyth
Nan Solomon
Rosemary Spiegel
Kay B. Stephens
Storytellers Macon
Stratford Academy
Wilfred Stroud
The 11th Hour
The Macon Telegraph
Stella Tsai
Vineville Academy of the Arts
Laura Voss
Eric Wakefield
Alan Walden
Gina Ward
Delma Findlay Watson
Jean Evans Weaver
Wesleyan College
Kirk and Kirsten West
Tom Wight
Georgette Pilar Wilder
Ron Williams
Kathy Willingham
Doris Wood

2020 Creative Impact Award Recipients

Tiara Ponce and Kevin Lewis | Block the Hate
The Grand Opera House | Broadway Does Cabaret
Micah Goguen | Frontline Faces
Nancy Cleveland and Rachelle Wilson | Freedom for All Solidarity Walk
Jazz Association of Macon | Play it Forward
NewTown Macon | Pop up on Poplar & Bright City
Triangle Arts | 2nd Friday Drive Thru Gallery